New Professors and Associate Professors

30 Nov, 2020
New Professors and Associate Professors
L to R: Verica Rupar, Andrew Lowe, Ineke Crezee, Andrew Gibbons, Peter B Kim, Tomas Pernecky, Aaron Gilbert, Antonio Diaz Andrade, Judith McAra-Couper

Nine senior AUT academics have been appointed to the position of Professor, effective from 1 January 2021. Another 19 academics have been appointed as Associate Professors.

An engineer working in cardiovascular health; a language expert helping migrants and refugees get the best of our health services; and a researcher of education philosophy who has examined the links between science fiction and how we teach children at school are among those appointed.

“These leading academics produce research that matters in a broad range of areas and are vital to ensuring our students leave AUT as great graduates,” said Vice-Chancellor Derek McCormack.

“We congratulate our appointees and acknowledge their years of contribution to making AUT the University for the changing world.”

New AUT Professors

  • Professor Verica Rupar (School of Communication Studies) specialises in media, journalism and politics
  • Professor Andrew Lowe (School of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences) specialises in mechanical engineering, modelling of the cardiovascular system and smart textiles
  • Professor Ineke Crezee (School of Language and Culture) specialises in translation, interpreting and language
  • Professor Andrew Gibbons (School of Education) specialises in education systems, early childhood education, and the history and philosophy of education
  • Professor Peter B Kim (School of Hospitality and Tourism) specialises in consumer interactive marketing and human resources, hospitality and tourism management
  • Professor Tomas Pernecky (School of Hospitality and Tourism) specialises in critical event and tourism studies, social ontology, epistemology and sustainable leadership
  • Professor Aaron Gilbert (Business School) specialises in finance, KiwiSaver and investment
  • Professor Antonio Diaz Andrade (Business School) specialises in management and business information systems
  • Professor Judith McAra-Couper (School of Clinical Sciences) specialises in midwifery and women’s health

New AUT Associate Professors