AUT’s commitment to the Treaty of Waitangi

It is through AUT’s commitment to the Treaty of Waitangi that the Office of Māori Advancement and the AUT Ngā Wai o Horotiu marae exist.

This important partnership AUT has with Māori honours the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, which is integral to the educational, social and philosophical culture of AUT. It ensures that AUT is meeting its commitment to Māori in our community. The three key principles are:

  1. Partnership
    Māori to participate in decision making processes, curriculum development, initiatives and accountability processes.
  2. Protection
    Māori to define and protect knowledge, legitimate knowledge to be defined by and for Māori to be included in representation and legitimating processes.
  3. Participation
    Māori staff and students have access to the benefits of being an employee or student of the university. To participate in the opportunities and course offerings available and to contribute to the benefits of the university.

Te Tiriti O Waitangi - New Zealand History Online; State Services Commission

Archives New Zealand (graphic reproduction)

Office of Māori Advancement

The Office of Māori Advancement works closely with AUT Māori staff, students and the wider community in advising and implementing Mātauranga Māori kaupapa throughout AUT.

Read more

Website search