Research and Innovation Office

The Research and Innovation Office supports research activity across AUT. We help develop research partnerships nationally and internationally, and maximise knowledge transfer and IP flow from AUT’s research activities to external organisations.

You can contact our staff about a range of research related matters - from AUT's research strategy to information on how to partner with AUT for research projects.

Research strategy and leadership

nigel-hemmington-small

Professor Nigel Hemmington
Pro Vice-Chancellor – Research, Enterprise & International
Email: nigel.hemmington@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9280

Rosanne Ellis

Dr Rosanne Ellis
Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor – Research, Engagement & Management
Email: rosanne.ellis@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9257

Catherine Redmond

Catherine Redmond
Associate Director Research Operations
Email: catherine.redmond@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9386

Funding and grants

Liana de Jong

Liana de Jong
Senior Research Advisor (RSNZ)
Email: liana.dejong@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 8323

Ursula Foley small

Ursula Foley
Research Developer (HRC & Government Ministry)
Email: Ursula.foley@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9999 ext 6767

Julia McPhee

Julia McPhee
Research Advisor (Community and Marsden)
Email: julia.mcphee@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 5422

Candice Tian

Candice Tian
Assistant Research Advisor
Email: candice.tian@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9385

Industry engagement

Gary Putt

Gary Putt
Manager – Industry Engagement
Email: gary.putt@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9398

Yun Jae Lee

Yun Jae Lee
Research Advisor (Industry and MBIE)
Email: yunjae.lee@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9999 ext 7535

Commercialisation and Innovation (AUT Ventures)

Steve Corbett

Steve Corbett
Director of Commercialisation and Innovation, CEO of AUT Ventures
Email: steve.corbett@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9246

Michael Fielding

Michael Fielding
Senior Commercialisation Manager
Email: michael.fielding@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9874

Tom Davidson

Tom Davidson
Business Development Manager
Email: tom.davidson@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9519

Research performance and systems

Danu Poyner

Danu Poyner
Manager – Research Systems and Performance
Email: danu.poyner@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 6509

Aleks Radakovic
PBRF Support Coordinator
Email: aleks.radakovic@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9528

Other key research contacts

Amber Taylor

Amber Taylor
Manager, Client Outreach & Communications
Email: amber.taylor@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9556

Bernadette Gleeson

Bernadette Gleeson
Contract Administrator
Email: bernadette.gleeson@aut.ac.nz
Phone:+64 9 921 9999 ext 8960

Rimmi Kothari

Rimmi Kothari
Business Analyst
Email: rimmi.kothari@aut.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 921 9999 ext 8459