Our Language Weeks

Our Pacific language weeks highlight the contribution the Pacific culture adds to New Zealand’s culture as a whole.

The Ministry for Pacific People’s Pacific Language Weeks are celebrated at AUT each year as an opportunity to acknowledge the diverse Pacific cultures at the University.

AUT gives a platform throughout the different weeks to allow those languages to be promoted through language debates, cultural workshops, speech competitions, Pacific cuisine and different sporting events. Each language week has opportunities targeted towards better celebrating their culture.

The dates for the seven Pacific Language Weeks in 2017 are below:

Samoan Language Week: Sunday 28 May – Saturday 3 June 2017

Cook Islands Language Week: Sunday 30 July – Saturday 5 August 2017

Tongan Language Week: Sunday 3 September – Saturday 9 September 2017

Tuvalu Language Week: Sunday 1 October – Saturday 7 October 2017

Fijian Language Week: Sunday 8 October – Saturday 14 October 2017

Niuean Language Week: Sunday 15 October – Saturday 21 October 2017

Tokelau Language Week: Monday 23 October – Sunday 29 October 2017