Te Ipukarea

Te Ipukarea logo
Te Ipukarea — The National Māori Language Institute is a partnership between several providers and organisations of Māori language nationally.

The partners include:

  • Te Ara Poutama at AUT University
  • Te Ātaarangi
  • Te Kawa-a-Māui and Te Herenga Waka Marae of Victoria University of Wellington
  • Te Panekiretanga o te Reo of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa
  • Te Puna Wānaka of Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology
  • Aotahi: The School of Māori and Indigenous Studies of the University of Canterbury
  • Lincoln University.

At the core of the Institute is the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, teaching and research in the Māori language and a collaboration of partners committed to advancing the mana of the language.

The Institute is headed by Professor Tania Ka'ai with staff based at Te Ara Poutama at AUT University.

Visit the Te Ipukarea website for more information.

Tania Ka'ai

Professor Tania Ka'ai, Director, Te Ipukarea

"Our work in Te Ipukarea in research and the digitisation of te reo Māori is critical in the future survival, development and advancement of the Māori language as one of the three official languages in Aotearoa/New Zealand.

Using technology and making available free-to-access resources increases our reach to a greater New Zealand and global population.

Importantly, it is a medium which is more appealing and relevant to younger generations of learners in a contemporary world. Our research and digital resources reflect our motto Whakareia o te kounga o te reo, which emphasises the promotion of quality [Māori] language."

Last updated: 03-Nov-2014 12.50pm

The information on this page was correct at time of publication. For a comprehensive overview of AUT qualifications, please refer to the Academic Calendar.